Afternoon Concert is a Music programme.

Seasons in Detail


Afternoon Concert

To round off this week of performances from European summer festivals, a second trip to Finland for Schoenberg's epic cantata Gurrelieder, setting poems by the Danish writer Jens Peter Jacobsen set in the Gurre Castle in North Zealand. Plus, a return to the archive of the Martha Argerich Project for a concert given in Lugano in 2012. Maria João Pires is the soloist in Mozart's D minor piano concerto K466, with the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana and conductor Alexander Vedernikov. Presented by Georgia Mann. 2.00 Schoenberg: Gurrelieder. Stuart Skelton (tenor: Waldemar), Katarina Karnéus (mezzo: Waldtaube), Emily Magee (soprano: Tove), Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke (tenor: Klaus Narr), Gidon Saks (bass-baritone: Peasant), Salome Kammer (narrator), Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Sinfonia Lahti, Helsinki Music Centre Chorus, Polytech Chorus, Spira Ensemble, conductor Susanna Mälkki. 3.50 Mozart: Piano Concerto No 20 in D minor, K466. Maria João Pires (piano), Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, conductor Alexander Vedernikov.

Genre: Music

Running Time: 150 minutes (approx)

When is Afternoon Concert next on TV?

It's next showing on BBC Radio 3 Today, 2:00pm and on BBC Radio 3 August 17th, 2:00pm. See more...

Main Cast

Penny Gore
Fiona Talkington
Georgia Mann
Tom McKinney
Adrian Scarborough
Luke Mulhall
Preti Taneja
Nicola Heywood Thomas
John Toal
Natasha Riordan
Elizabeth Alker
Les Pratt
Hannah French
Ruth Thomson
Richard Coles
Kate Mollison
Jessica Curry
Ian Skelly
Clive Portbury
Rachael Allen