15 certificateThe Savage is a Film programme that first aired in 1953 and has been classified a 15 certificate.

The Savage is a 3 star programme


The Savage (1953)

Directed by
George Marshall

Charlton Heston stars in George Marshall's western. Young James Aherne is travelling with his father to a new life in the West, but, crossing the Black Hills of Dakota, they are attacked by Crow warriors. James is the only survivor of the attack and is rescued by the Sioux, whose chief, Yellow Eagle, takes him in and raises him, calling the young boy War Bonnet. Years later, after gold has been found in the Black Hills, white settlers and soldiers have moved in and the Sioux are threatening to go to war. War Bonnet finds his loyalties torn between the settlers and his adopted tribe, especially those members of the Sioux he considers family.

Written by ,

Genre: Film

Running Time: 100 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 1953

3/5 Stars

Classification: 15 Certificate

Filmed in Colour

When is The Savage next on TV?

It's next showing on Film4 May 30th, 2:45pm and on Film4 Plus 1 May 30th, 3:45pm. See more...


Image for Charlton HestonCharlton Heston...War Bonnet
Susan Morrow...Tally Hathersall
Peter Hansen...Lt. Weston Hathersall
Joan Taylor...Luta
Richard Rober...Capt. Arnold Vaugant
Donald Porter...Running Dog
Ted de Corsia...Iron Breast
Ian MacDonald...Yellow Eagle
Milburn Stone...Cpl. Martin
Angela Clarke...Pehangi
Orley Lindgren
Michael Tolan...Long Mane
Howard Negley...Col. Ellis
Frank Richards...Sgt. Norris
John Miljan...White Thunder