12 certificateThe Other Sister is a Film programme that first aired in 1998 and has been classified a 12 certificate.

The Other Sister is a 3 star programme



The Other Sister (1998)

Directed by
Garry Marshall

Carla Tate (Juliette Lewis), is the mentally challenged daughter of society wife Elizabeth Tate (Diane Keaton). For the wealthy socialite, Carla is an embarrassment - an unmanageable and unmarriageable daughter.

Carla has been in training school for several years, safe from the overprotective Elizabeth and her society friends and safely out of the way of the social limelight of her family. But when she graduates, she says she wants to become a veterinarean nurse and wants to live on her own, this causes much upset.

She soon meets Danny McMann (Giovanni Ribisi), a young man with a very similar situation to her own, and with him starts to explore love, the transcending power of marching bands and the delights of the local bus terminal.

This is a touching, spirited drama. The talented Juliette Lewis is given a powerful backing cast, including sterling veterans Keaton and Skerrit, as well as a role to get her teeth into. Lewis has long been known for portraying vulnerable but wilful characters; here is one of her most memorable.

Written by ,

Genre: Film

Running Time: 150 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 1998

3/5 Stars

Classification: 12 Certificate

Production Country: USA

Filmed in Colour


Image for Juliette LewisJuliette Lewis...Carla Tate
Image for Diane KeatonDiane Keaton...Elizabeth Tate
Image for Tom SkerrittTom Skerritt...Dr. Radley Tate
Image for Giovanni RibisiGiovanni Ribisi...Daniel McMann
Image for Poppy MontgomeryPoppy Montgomery...Caroline Tate
Sarah Paulson...Heather Tate
Linda Thorson...Drew Evanson
Image for Joe FlaniganJoe Flanigan...Jeff Reed
Juliet Mills...Winnie the Maid
Tracy Reiner...Michelle
Hope Alexander-Willis...Marge
Harvey Miller...Dr. Johnson
Hector Elizondo...Ernie the Manservant
Alma Yvonne...Rachel
Marvin Braverman...Uncle Sam Teacher