U certificateThe Man Who Never Was is a Film programme that first aired in 1956 and has been classified a U certificate.

The Man Who Never Was is a 3 star programme

Image for the Film programme "The Man Who Never Was"


The Man Who Never Was (1956)

Directed by
Ronald Neame

True story of a British attempt to trick the enemy into weakening Sicily's defenses before the 1943 attack, using a dead man with faked papers

Written by ,

Genre: Film

Running Time: 100 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 1956

3/5 Stars

Classification: U Certificate

Production Country: UK

Filmed in Colour

When is The Man Who Never Was next on TV?

It's next showing on BBC 2 December 27th, 4:20pm and on BBC 2 Northern Ireland December 27th, 4:20pm. See more...


Clifton Webb...Lt. Cmdr. Ewen Montagu
Gloria Grahame...Lucy Sherwood
Robert Flemyng...Lt. George Acres
Josephine Griffin...Pam
Stephen Boyd...Patrick O'Reilly
Laurence Naismith...Adm. Cross
Geoffrey Keen...General Nye
Moultrie Kelsall...The Father
Cyril Cusack...Taxi driver
André Morell...Sir Bernard Spilsbury
Michael Hordern...General Coburn
Allan Cuthbertson...Vice-Admiral
Joan Hickson...Landlady
Terence Longdon...Larry
Gibb McLaughlin...Club porter