15 certificateBury My Heart at Wounded Knee is a Film programme that first aired in 2007 and has been classified a 15 certificate.

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee is a 4 star programme

Image for the Film programme "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"


Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee (2007)

Directed by
Yves Simoneau

This epic movie from HBO is based on Dee Brown's dramatic, bestselling account of the systematic subjugation of the American Indian during the latter half of the 19th century.

Starring Aidan Quinn and Anna Paquin, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee opens with the Sioux victory over General Custer at Little Big Horn and culminates with the massacre of hundreds of Lakota men, women and children by the 7th Cavalry at Wounded Knee Creek on 29 December 1890; a massacre which many consider one of the most grievous atrocities in United States history.

Published in 1971, Dee Brown's book, one of the foremost works on the subject, has sold nearly five million copies and has been translated into 17 languages.

Written by ,

Genre: Film

Running Time: 150 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 2007

4/5 Stars

Classification: 15 Certificate

Production Country: USA

Filmed in Colour

Made for TV


Image for Anna PaquinAnna Paquin...Elaine Goodale
Chevez Ezaneh...Ohiyesa/Young Charles
August Schellenberg...Sitting Bull
Dan Howard...Uncle
Image for Aidan QuinnAidan Quinn...Henry Dawes
Image for Colm FeoreColm Feore...General Sherman
Fred Dalton Thompson...President Ulysses S. Grant
Nathan Lee Chasing His Horse...One Bull
Wayne Charles Baker...Jacob
Brian Stollery...Bishop Whipple
Shaun Johnston...Col. Nelson Miles
Gordon Tootoosis...Chief Red Cloud
Billy Merasty...Young Man Afraid
Morris Birdyellowhead...American Horse
Eddie Spears...Chasing Crane