18 certificateWhat Becomes of the Broken Hearted? is a Film programme that first aired in 1999 and has been classified a 18 certificate.

What Becomes of the Broken Hearted? is a 3 star programme



What Becomes of the Broken Hearted? (1999)

Directed by
Ian Mune

Jake (Temeura Morrison) has been disowned by his family due to his violent ways, which still remain big in his life. Rita (Edna Stirling), is the new woman in his life, but when she witnesses his unpredictable and violent rages, she shies away.

However, when his son Nig (Julian Arahanga) is killed in a gang war, much of the family's anguish and anger is directed at Jake for introducing him to this violent and dangerous way of life.

Now his son Sonny (Clint Eruera) wants revenge on the gangs, but Jake refuses to become involved in the battle.

Sonny soon joins forces with Nig's girlfriend Tania (Nancy Brunning) and infiltrates a rival gang hoping to seek revenge.

However things don't work out as planned, and Jake is forced to step into the breach and use his street brawling skills to save his son and finally begin the process of healing old family rifts.

Written by

Genre: Film

Running Time: 108 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 1999

3/5 Stars

Classification: 18 Certificate

Production Country: New Zealand

Filmed in Colour


Temuera Morrison...Jake Heke
Rena Owen...Beth Heke
Nancy Brunning...Tania Rogers
Julian Arahanga...Nig Heke
Clint Eruera...Sonny Heke
Tammy Davis...Mookie
Edna Stirling...Rita