12 certificateGrave of the Fireflies is a Film programme that first aired in 1988 and has been classified a 12 certificate.

Grave of the Fireflies is a 4 star programme

Image for the Film programme "Grave of the Fireflies"

You may also like


Grave of the Fireflies (1988)

Directed by
Isao Takahata

Set in the days after the Second World War has ended, Isao Takahata's moving film for Japan's famous Studio Ghibli looks at the effect of American attacks on the Japanese civilian population.

The film opens on the day of Japan's surrender, as 14-year-old Seita, dies alone. Then in flashback, it shows the death of his mother from burns inflicted in a bombing raid, his attempts to look after younger sister Setsuko and their struggle against hunger, increasing attacks by the Americans and the abandonment of compassion and caring by the rest of society.

An openly anti-war film, it shows that the suffering of the innocents in war happen both to the victors and the losers, and despite its country of origin, it could apply to any country around the world.

Written by ,

Also known as "Hotaru no haka"

Genre: Film

Running Time: 120 minutes (approx)

Production Year: 1988

4/5 Stars

Classification: 12 Certificate

Production Country: Japan

Filmed in Colour


Tsutomu Tatsumi...Seita
Ayano Shiraishi...Setsuko
Yoshiko Shinohara...Mother
Akemi Yamaguchi...Aunt
Rhoda Chrosite...Setsuko - English version
Shannon Conley...Additional Voices - English version
Crispin Freeman...Additional Voices - English version
Dan Green...Additional Voices - English version
Amy Holden Jones...Aunt - English version
George Leaver...Additional Voices - English version
J. Robert Spencer...Seita - English version
Nick Sullivan...Additional Voices - English version
Veronica Taylor...Mother - English version